Mozzarella in carrozza ( Italian version of grilled cheese sandwich)

Mozzarella in Carrozza

Mozzarella in Carrozza

How often does it happen that you buy bread and don’t eat it all ?

If there is one thing that I really dislike, that is wasting food, specially bread ! it  really seems like adding insult to injury !

So what to do with that stale bread ? Sure, you can make Ribollita if it is tuscan bread, or you can let it dry in the oven and make real breadcrumbs out of it, not like the ones you buy that are so fine they look like flour !!

Sunday night I had some mozzarella in the refrigerator which was getting close to the expiry date so I thought to use up the bread and make ” Mozzarella in Carrozza ” which literally means Mozzarella in a Carriage !!

ingr. mozzarella in carrozza

These are the ingrediente: Day old ( or more) bread, mozzarella, anchovy paste ( if you like it), egg beat with a pinch of salt, breadcrumbs, and a bit of Olive Oil

pane toscano

I cut some slices of bread, not too thick or too thin, I didn’t make it fancy by cutting the crust off and by shaping the slices into a regular shape . . .  but if you have the time and will you will surely have a prettyer result !!

pane e mozzarella

On one slice of bread I put a couple of slices of mozzarella, on the adult ones I spread a little bit of anchovy paste ( the kids don’t like it !), then I covered it with the other slice of bread and dipped it in the egg mixture making sure that it was wet on all sides including the edges. I then covered it with the breadcrumgs – including the edges.

Mozzarella in carrozza 3

The sandwiches were then put on a cookie sheet covered with oven paper and after drizling some olive oil on them I cooked them in a hot oven ( 200° C) for about 15 minutes ( or untill the mozzarella is melted and the breadcrumbs are crunchy)

. . .Useless to say there were no left overs  . . . actually, I had a hard time taking the last pictures . .

To make the Mozzarella in Carrozza even more tasty, next time I think I will butter the bread on the outside, and I will add some grated parmesan to the  breadcrumbs . . . this way it will be even more crunchy !!

mozzarella in carrozza 2

Leave a Reply

