Tuscan Sourdough Bread

Tuscan BreadYou are probably thinkin: “ok, I’ve got my sourdough now . . . what will I do with it !?! ”

Make the best bread in the world, Tuscan Bread! The reason why Tuscan bread is so good, is that there is no salt. In Tuscany we eat bread with almost anything, from salame, to salad, to pasta sauce, and even with choccolate or walnuts.

Here is how I make it:

After I pack my kids lunches ( around 7.00 am) I feed my sourdough and let it rest for around 4 hours. When it is nice and puffy and ready to go, I start with the bread:

Ingredients:

50g of sourdough, 180g warm water, 230g flour ( I use all purpose), ¼ teaspoon of honey.

I mix all ingredients together for about 5 mintues and then I let it rest for 10 minutes and then with my spatula I do what is called “stretch and fold” straight from the bowl – this technique is the equivalent to kneading, or folding the dough ( like one does when making puff pastry. Here you can find a video of how it is done. I do this every 10 minutes for 4 times and then put my bread dough in the turned off oven with just the light on. The dough will rest in the oven for 8 hours, or untill doubled in size. If your timetable will not allow you to bake 8 hours after you have mixed your dough, you can put the bowl in the refrigerator for up to 1 day, when ready to bake you should leave it at least 1 hour, or up to 2 hours, at room temperature and then proceed with the baking.

Dough rising

Once the 8 hours have passed I do one more round of stretch and fold, and then I turn the dough on a floured suface, I shape my loaf and let it rest untill the oven is ready,

I preheat the oven to 220°C and put an empty loaf or pie pan on the bottom rack. When the oven is ready I put the bread on a baking sheet, I slash it with a knife or make some cuts with a pair of scissors, then I set it in the top ½ of the oven, then I pour about 1 cup of boiling water in the empty pan on the bottom rack. I close the oven door and let it cook for 30 / 40 minutes.

The reason why I put the hot water in the oven is to generate steam, the steam will help the bread rise and will make the crust nice and crunchy.Crunchy Crust on Tuscan bread

4 thoughts on “Tuscan Sourdough Bread

  1. Pingback: Tuscan Sourdough Bread | Sancasciano in Val di Pesa (Fi). What's up in a medieval and typical village of the Chianti – Tuscany area.

  2. Io sono pugliese e non riesco a mangiare il pane toscano, la mancanza di sale lo rende “strano” al mio palato. Però devo dire che il tuo ha un aspetto fantastico!

Leave a Reply

